But for now..

14 May

I can’t just leave you with nothing. So, here are some other gorgeous things I’ve come across on teh interwebz (and in real life) this week:

1. Despite the fact that I almost always wear skirts and dresses, I only have a handful of pairs of really boring black opaque tights – this must change! These gorgeous Les Queues des Sardines stockings are screen printed by hand in limited editions. Want, want, want. The only place in Australia that sells them is in Sydney, alas.

2. Often, I find that every single pair of socks I own are in the wash at the same time. Nathanator realized my plight and did something particularly gorgeous last night – totally unexpectedly, he brought me home a cute little pair of pink sheepskin boots and a bunch of thermal explorer socks (IN CUTE COLOURS AND STRIPES, as opposed to all the ‘man’ colours they normally have). I’m so lucky to have a man who cares about my feet!

3. I’ve been reading up on how to grow strawberries (among other things) – last winter I totally forgot that you actually have to plant things at certain times of the year and missed out. My Dad has strawberries, mint, spinach, tomatoes, .. everything growing in his little inner-city garden – if he can do it, I should be able to, right? I found these ones via flickr and they look almost too good to be true – I can’t believe they came from someone’s garden.

nom nom nom nom nomimage via..

4. I chanced upon a really thorough and detailed corset-making tutorial that I can’t wait to try. The only thing putting me off is the huge amount of specialized materials involved, and it seems like something you get better at over time. But then I see pictures of Dita von Teese and I forget all that!

5. Back on house decorating, it often seems like most of Australia is stuck in this mid-nineties super-masculine sterile minimalist rut. A lot of people here build houses with companies who only offer a few design options – you only really get to pick out things like wall colours and doorknobs, but again, from a very limited range. As a result, a lot of people’s houses look pretty much the same, and people tend to buy/arrange furniture in the same sparse style they saw it in the example house. When looking for design inspiration, I often feel a bit lost and having to turn to international blogs and magazines, which presents even MORE problems because all the retailers are overseas! Here are some photos from my house inspiration folder (I’ve had them for a long time and have lost most of the sources, but if you know, let me know?):

We have doors exactly like this and far too many books; the plan is to build the bookcases from scratch. Summer project, I think!

This is what I want my room to look like! I love the colour - no wimpy non-committal 'feature wall', it's fierce.

I love the blue/green in an otherwise white kitchen, and how there is so much going on, but it still feels clean, light and airy - via Apartment Therapy.

I love thoughtful arrangements of photography and art - whether it's a grid or something more freeform. And mismatching cushions win, at everything.

6. I rediscovered Ruffled this week – a blog full of eye candy for anybody planning a unique vintage-inspired wedding. Being so geographically isolated from the rest of the world, it often feels like a lot of people in Australia are very behind on trends or stylistic ideas; conservative and scared to stray from what is ‘accepted’. I guess the same is true of how people decorate their houses. It’s a little bit sad – shouldn’t a wedding be a reflection of the couple, their unique style and interests, rather than a “we must have fifty million roses and the bridesmaids need matching haircuts and my shoes must match my dress and we need white taffeta on EVERYTHING, in a church (even though we’re not religious) with silver ribbon everywhere… and doves” affair? This couple is from the latest post on Ruffled, wearing a tweed jacket and a vintage dress found on eBay, and I think they look beautiful.

If I ever get married – we would eat cake, drink soda, dance to our favourite music, Nath wants to wear a top hat, I want to wear a tea-length peach dress with a magenta sash, and we want figurines of Mario and Princess Peach on top of a cake (or Skeletor and Lady Lovelylocks). Actually, I’m lazy – we’d probably just elope.

xx Bunny

One Response to “But for now..”

  1. jazabelle May 15, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    please make your house like those pictures above so I can sit in your wonderful kitchen and have a wonderful eton mess made with your home grown strawberries 🙂

Leave a Reply

