Lovely Winter

10 May

I am not a cold weather person. Even on the hottest summer days, I still manage to have cold hands and feet – winter is a whole other kettle of fish. It’s depressing, painful, dark and long. But there are still some lovely things about winter.. I just have to remind myself, constantly, so I don’t get too down about the fact that springlike weather is still 4-5 months away.

source

Hot chocolate. Soy chai lattes. All manner of gorgeous teas. I’m not a coffee girl at all. I want to go on a mini shopping spree at T2 sometime soon – their rooibos blends (especially ones with vanilla or almond) smell like cake!

Getting to wear gorgeous coats, stockings, boots and woolen dresses.

Hot baths, followed up by my favourite pajamas.

Being able to eat super hot ‘yang’ foods like Taiwanese beef noodle soup and not feel sick afterwards

source

Getting to wear a warm, cuddly scarf! I’m currently knitting three different scarves (I get distracted) – a huge one in gloomy charcoal and eggplant for Nath, a chunky one in teal for me, and a little cream one for Posie!.. now, if I can only convince her to wear it.

Laying in bed while it rains outside with a sleepy, cuddly puppy.

Toasting marshmallows on an open fire. We don’t do this too often, unfortunately, because I’m not so great at chopping firewood..

source

Actually getting things done because there is no lovely weather enticing me outside.

So many days until September! Sigh.

xx Bunny

One Response to “Lovely Winter”

  1. amarettogirl May 13, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    what a delightful and positive post! I guess australia has a how different cycle of seasons doesn’t it…its always facinating to meet folks virtually that show you a whole different perspective- spring is here for us and as soon as the unexpected colfront dissappears I’ll be planting in the garden…but winter has a special place in my heart too.

Leave a Reply

