Saturday Seven #1

8 May
  • I am completely in lust with the Graham & Green spring collection; so sad that they won’t deliver to me, down here at the bottom of the world. Makes me sad, because I’m pretty sure my life will always feel empty and incomplete without this dressing table –
  • Pink hair rocks my socks off. But I am still fretting about whether or not to just do it. Sigh. Every time I think I have made up my mind, I get scared. Maintenance scares me. The fact that a super bright colour will draw attention, so running into the supermarket with no makeup and trackpants won’t really be an option anymore. And makeup – having a brighter colour will mean wearing more makeup so I don’t look like a ghost.  And I’m still not even sure that pink is the right choice.. there are a few other colours that might be a better option.Right now, it’s narrowed down to hot pink (like the picture), bright red, natural red, blonde or dark brown – what do you think?
  • Ordering pizza from the internet is so embarrassingly exciting. Even if it’s super expensive and not great pizza. Bad thing about living in Geelong – I really wanted Vietnamese food delivered. Oh well.
  • It’s not all bad in this little town though. Geelong Lyric Theatre Society is doing Monty Python’s Spamalot right now – from all accounts, it’s pretty fun. I think Miss Jessie Upton and I are going next week, but if you want tickets call GPAC on 5225 1200 or book online. Nathanator is stage managing, so if something goes wrong we can blame it on him!
  • Dreams of Flying by Jan von Holleben is one of my favourite things ever – it’s a collection of photos of people laying on surfaces, posed as though they were flying. I came across this years ago, but end up revisiting it all the time.
  • Go here and have a listen. The band is Carolina Chocolate Drops, an old-style Southern band made up of fiddle, banjo and a hell of a voice. I really want the album Genuine Negro Jig – especially because of their cover of Blu Cantrell’s Hit ‘Em Up Style.
  • Nath turned me onto this really handy tool – Kuler. It’s a community based around making gorgeous 5-colour palettes; when I get my office set up again and start making things, I can see a lot of potential uses for this. Otherwise it’s great for inspiration. Licorice Oz is my favourite  –

Happy Saturday!
xx Bunny

4 Responses to “Saturday Seven #1”

  1. syar May 8, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    Re: pink hair, I violently agree. I have wanted to go whole-head pink since forever, which was what led me to get three streaks (one for my fringe, the other two at my nape) of pink last November. Maintenance is a bit shit, currently I’m all sorts of faded orange because I haven’t had the chance to do a touch up, but it’s actually okay because one tube of Paint Box (There’s also manic panic, unless I’m dreaming that as a brand) lasts quite a while if it’s just streaks. But yeah, whole head colour would be a lot more than that, and maintaining that vibrance would be so hard! I always feel so envious of the pink hair I see around.

    Dark brown’s another one I’ve always wanted, a chocolatey brown but because my hair’s so dark, the only way it would show would be if I dyed it blonde and then brown again. I wish I was a Metamorphagus so I could change hair colour at will!

  2. jazabelle May 8, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    Ok to start you off I would suggest a lovely Blonde with some honey or caramel through them. That way you aren’t too washed out and you can experiment with putting some semi perminent pink through it! which I still think you can pull off.
    Also if you think pizza is expensive in aus try being here. where they think dominos, yes I kid you not, Dominos is fantastic pizza and they pay £15 a pizza! that is like $25 for a crappy pizza.
    The colour pallet is very you!
    xoxo

  3. syar May 8, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    PS: I love this new WordPress theme. Very Tumblr-y.

  4. Bunny May 8, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    Syar – Apparently Manic Panic is good, but SFX is even better. I’ve been researching! Chocolate brown would look gorgeous on you, but would they have to lift the colour all the way to blonde first? I don’t know – I’ve been reading waaaay too much about home hair-colouring, maybe I’m getting a little too adventurous for my own good!
    Oh, and thank you – I’m having issues with WordPress right now, but this theme has made me feel marginally better about it all!

    Jaz – I’m even considering this – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vr3ENNw1VB4 – a pale blonde but then just making clip-in extensions of various colours. That way I could do pink, or red, or blue, or green depending on what I was wearing.. or just be blonde if I needed to be ‘sensible’. And maintenance for blonde would still be a lot but not as much as pink all over. I don’t know!
    Oh, and re: Dominos.. that sucks! You poor thing, as soon as you come back, we are so going to Pizzaland. 🙂

Leave a Reply

