Princess Bunny

17 Apr

Well, that was certainly an experience.

For a lark, I decided to audition for Tokyo Disneyland – they were doing an international audition tour to find singers, dancers, aerialists and character look-alikes for the resort. I rocked up for the character audition; they were specifically looking for characters including some that I sort of resemble (Ariel, Aurora, Alice in Wonderland, etc), and a lot of people have previously described my demeanor as very “Disney princess”. So I figured I’d go along and try my luck. But the audition process was a bit of a LOLfest – this is what I learnt:

  • just because you are not auditioning to be a dancer does not mean you won’t be hit with an audition dance component
  • when you question this, prepare to be patronizingly told by a fellow auditionee, “It’s not a dance, they are just going to teach us a combination
  • a ‘combination’ entails being able to execute a sequence to music with almost no practice, while someone barks at you, “Chassé! Balancé! Pas de bourrée! Step, pivot, present , wave to the right for 4, wave to the left for 8, and… POSE!”
  • standard attire for a non-dance audition seems to be leotards, tights and ballet split-soles
  • this can be accompanied by a full face of stage makeup, if you like – false eyelashes and clashy red lipstick, yeah!

Shrug. I don’t know –  with the dance component, it just seemed redundant to pretend that it was based on something other than our looks.

Oh well. After the audition, I ate an almond croissant, had a wander through one of my favourite furniture stores and went home for an afternoon nap, before coming back to Nathan’s for spaghetti and a night on the couch watching Extras– so whatever… I think in the way I spent the rest of the day, I out-princessed everybody anyway.

xx Princess Bunny

2 Responses to “Princess Bunny”

  1. Audrey April 20, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    It was a book which made us all want to do forensic science.
    And one of “us” is doing science…
    🙂

    • Bunny April 20, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

      Guess that shows how much I was totally on another planet during high school. And who is doing science..?

Leave a Reply

