Reading List: May/June 2010

28 May
image via…

I have let myself down – I haven’t read a book for pleasure in months. Which is a very, very long time for me. I’m getting the distinct feeling that parts of my brain are starting to rot without stimulation. Here are some of the books I want to get through before school goes back:

  • The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender
  • Checkmate by Jostein Gaarder
  • The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
  • Three Junes by Julia Glass
  • Possession by A.S. Byatt
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
  • Changing my Mind: Occassional Essays by Zadie Smith

What’s on your winter (or summer if you’re in the northern hemisphere) reading list? What brilliant books have you read lately that I should investigate? Leave me a comment!

xx B

4 Responses to “Reading List: May/June 2010”

  1. Bill Standen May 28, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Reading The Lovely Bones at the moment after I was loaned it by a friend. Before that I was working through Pratchett from the beginning.

    Next? Don’t know…something vaguely travel related me thinks. Maybe The Innocents Abroad or The Living City.

  2. jazabelle May 28, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    I didn’t think the lovely bones was worth all the hype, but it was still a nice read. I just finished the tomorrow series which I think when you have the time you should read the first one. It kicks into gear at chapter 5 so deffinately worth the hold out til then. I am reading clockwork orange next I think as it is my housemeate turn to pick the next book, but will probably steal one for your list after that. so give us the heads up on which ones set your imagintation alight. xox

  3. syar May 29, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    I read Possession over last summer, it was really good. I have two separate reading lists for next semester that I want to get through during the upcoming break, like Mary McCarthy’s “The Group”, Doris Lessing’s “Memoir’s of a survivor”. I’ve still got Jonathan Swift’s “Gulliver’s Travels” that I started in January and haven’t finished.

    I also want to get the new collection of essays by Emily Gould, “And The Heart Says Whatever”, and a book by Julie Klausner. Just need the funds!

    I haven’t read any brilliant books lately, all my reading is me fantasizing about reading, or stuff for essays. Booo.

  4. Bunny June 2, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Bill and Jaz – I read The Lovely Bones a couple of years ago. Really liked the first two-thirds, but it sort of fell away after that. I guess I wasn’t as interested in the sister as the protagonist.

    Bill – Travel related!? I’m guessing you’re hitting Asia soon then? :)

    Jaz – I will have to read the series at some point! I’ll see if my sister has it (so I can borrow). A Clockwork Orange is a pretty full-on read, simply for the language – you know the way Alex speaks, in that bastardized Russian-tinged mix of metaphors and slang? The novel is like that too.. eek!

    Syar – I have been wanting to read Possession for ages, so I’m glad it has your stamp of approval! I love reading essay collections too, so I’ll have to check out Emily Gould when I get the chance.

    Everyone – seeing as I am stuck at home, I’ve decided to start with a book that isn’t even on the list just because I already have it here – Alias Grace by Margaret Attwood.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

